skip to Cookie NoticeSkip to contents

Your health and safety remain our top priority: Learn about our Safe Care Commitment | Use our Prescreen app before arrival for faster entry | Read the COVID-19 Vaccine FAQs

Header Skipped.

Awards, Honors, and Grants

May 04, 2021

Kuchroo Wins 2021 John Dystel Prize for MS Research

Vijay Kuchroo, DVM, PhD 

Vijay Kuchroo, DVM, PhD, of the Department of Neurology, received the 2021 John Dystel Prize for Multiple Sclerosis (MS) Research from the National MS Society and the American Academy of Neurology for his outstanding research contributions to the underlying immune mechanisms that drive MS. 

MS is an unpredictable, often disabling disease of the central nervous system that can cause vision loss, pain, fatigue and impaired coordination. There is currently no cure for MS. The late National MS Society board member Oscar Dystel and his late wife, Marion, established the prize in 1994 in honor of their son, John Jay Dystel, an attorney whose promising career was cut short by progressive disability from MS.

Kuchroo is a senior scientist at the Brigham and a co-director of the Center for Infection and Immunity at the Brigham Research Institute. He is the Samuel L. Wasserstrom Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School and the founding director of the Evergrande Center for Immunologic Diseases at Harvard Medical School and the Brigham. He has served the MS community as a volunteer peer reviewer for the National MS Society and other agencies, and has shared his knowledge by mentoring many young investigators.

The National MS Society, founded in 1946, funds cutting-edge research, drives change through advocacy and provides programs and services to help people affected by MS live their best lives.