Centers of Excellence

Heart & Vascular Center

Heart & Vascular Center Leadership

Brigham and Women’s Hospital is proud to have a rich legacy in cardiovascular care and research. For nearly a century, we have been the epicenter for innovation and discovery in this field. The depth and breadth of our achievements span every facet of cardiovascular care, from performing the first successful valve surgery in the world to being the first to prove aspirin can prevent a heart attack.

Under the clinical leadership of Dr. Mandeep Mehra and Dr. Prem Shekar, our Heart & Vascular Center is poised to better integrate all of our cardiovascular services and serve as a catalyst for further advances in care and research.

As a cardiologist and president of Brigham and Women’s Hospital, I am confident that our Heart & Vascular Center will continue to lead the way in shaping cardiovascular care for generations to come.

Elizabeth Nabel, MD
   President, Brigham Health

Mandeep Mehra, MD

Mandeep Mehra, MD

Medical Director,
Heart & Vascular Center
Executive Director, Center for Advanced Heart Disease/Cardiomyopathy

Prem Shekar, MD

Prem Shekar, MD

Surgical Director,
Heart & Vascular Center
Chief, Division of Cardiac Surgery

David McCready, MBA, MHA

David McCready, MBA, MHA

Executive Sponsor, Heart & Vascular Center
Senior Vice President

Heart & Vascular Center Oversight Committee

Elizabeth G. Nabel, MD
President, Brigham and Women's Hospital

Joseph Loscalzo, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Medicine

Calum A. MacRae, MD, PhD
Chief, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Gerard M. Doherty, MD
Chair, Department of Surgery

Lisa M. Morrissey, DNP, MBS, RN
Interim Chief Nursing Officer

Chief Operating Officer
Executive Vice President

Heart & Vascular Center Leadership Group

Dale S. Adler, MD
Executive Vice Chair, Department of Medicine
Director, HVC Network Development

Michael Belkin, MD
Chief, Division of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery

Deepak L. Bhatt, MD, MPH
Executive Director, lnterventional Cardiovascular Programs

Marcelo F. DiCarli, MD
Executive Director, Noninvasive Cardiovascular Imaging Programs

Julie O'Malley
Senior Director, Cardiac Surgery
Senior Director, Vascular and Endovascular Surgery

Joanne Hogan, MS, RN
Associate Chief Nursing Officer,
ACNO, Care Coordination and Ambulatory Nursing

Ana Mercurio-Pinto
Director, Cardiovascular Medicine

Lisa M. Morrissey, DNP, MBS, RN
ACNO, Perioperative Services and Procedure Areas

Karen Reilly, DNP, RN
ACNO, Cardiovascular, Thoracic and Surgical

Stanton K. Shernan, MD
Director, Cardiac Anesthesia

Aaron B. Waxman, MD, PhD
Executive Director, Center for Pulmonary Heart Disease


For over a century, a leader in patient care, medical education and research, with expertise in virtually every specialty of medicine and surgery.

About BWH