skip to Cookie NoticeSkip to contents

Your health and safety remain our top priority: Learn about our Safe Care Commitment | Use our Prescreen app before arrival for faster entry | Read the COVID-19 Vaccine FAQs

Header Skipped.

External Awards – Department of Nursing

The BWH Department of Nursing is the recipient of the following honors and awards, in recognition of the superior care we provide patients, families and communities:

Beacon Award for Excellence

The American Association for Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) Beacon Award for Excellence is a national three-year designation that recognizes the exceptional patient care delivered on inpatient units and the healthy work environment the unit provides. The Beacon Award is bestowed upon units that successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with the AACN's six Healthy Work Environment Standards, including outcome measurement; leadership structures and systems; appropriate staffing and staff engagement; effective communication, knowledge management, learning and development; and evidence-based practice and processes.

Greater Boston YMCA Achiever Awards

Achievers are selected based upon a demonstrated history of achievement in their field; progression within their place of work and potential for further advancement; and a commitment to voluntary community service on behalf of youth. This program is a way for the Brigham to honor and celebrate the contributions of African American employees.

Advance for Nurses

Advance for Nurses organizes this annual award, which honors top nursing teams from across the country in celebration of National Nurses Week each May. Honorees exemplify the core values of teamwork, adaptability, expertise, outreach and initiative. Recipients are featured in Advance for Nurses magazine.

Nursing Excellence GEM Awards

Sponsored by, the Nursing Excellence GEM (Giving Excellence Meaning) Awards recognize outstanding work in six categories: advancing and leading the profession; clinical care; education and mentorship; home, community and ambulatory care; patient and staff management; and volunteerism and service. Regional award recipients are selected in each of these categories, and then go on to compete for the National Nurse of the Year Awards.

Salute to Nurses

Sponsored by the Boston Globe, readers are invited to submit stories of how a “special nurse helped them in a time of need,” which are published in the Boston Globe. These awards publicly honor the region's caretakers who go the extra mile to tend to patients in their most vulnerable moments.

New England Regional Black Nurses Association Excellence in Nursing Awards

Each February, the Excellence in Nursing Award from the New England Regional Black Nurses Association, Inc. recognizes black nurses for their outstanding contributions and meritorious efforts in the field of nursing. Honorees are nominated by their peers, who are uniquely positioned to recognize extraordinary individuals who make a difference, both on the job and in their communities.

Haley Scholarship

The Haley Scholarship, offered through Boston College's William F. Connell School of Nursing and made possible through the generosity of Kathleen and Steven Haley, is awarded each year to a nurse employed by BWH or one of its affiliates to help cover tuition costs for an advanced nursing degree. Eligibility is contingent on anticipated study and future practice of neuroscience nursing.


For over a century, a leader in patient care, medical education and research, with expertise in virtually every specialty of medicine and surgery.

About BWH