Internal Medicine Residency Application Process

General Information

Internship and residency applications are only accepted and reviewed through ERAS.

Application to the program should be made no later than October 1st. For applications submitted on time, letters can be added until November 1st.  Applications must include the following in order to be considered complete:

  • Application form
  • CV
  • Personal statement
  • Dean’s letter (MSPE)
  • Medical school transcript
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • USMLE transcript (Step 1)

Massachusetts State Step 2 Requirement:

Please note that prior to enrollment in any Massachusetts residency program, all interns are required to have passed both parts of USMLE Step 2 (CK and CS) by the time they apply for their limited license (i.e. in Spring of the match year). Our strong suggestion is that all of your exams be completed and available for review by the date match lists are submitted. Please be aware of this requirement and plan your exams accordingly.

Primary Care Candidates

Candidates applying to our Primary Care tracks must apply to both the DGM and HVMA programs, as well as the Categorical program. All applicants selected to interview on a Primary Care day will also be scheduled to interview on a Categorical day (generally done on two adjacent days).

Neuro-Preliminary Candidates

Neurology candidates applying for a preliminary year in medicine who are selected for an interview will receive an invitation through the BWH/MGH Harvard Neurology Residency Program. Interviews through Neurology qualify for ranking on our program's Preliminary rank list. Candidates do not need to interview for the Preliminary track in addition to the Neurology interview. 

International Medical Graduates

All applications are judged equally without regard to the nation of medical training. International Medical Graduates must have ECFMG certification and a completed ERAS application. Historically, successful applicants have USMLE (Steps 1 & 2) scores of above 260 and documentation of prior clinical training in the US or Canada. On average, IMGs with extraordinary qualifications make up 1-3 interns per year. If accepted, BWH will sponsor either an H-1 or J-1 visa.

Residency Interviews

Invitations for interviews are issued only after the applicant’s file is completed and reviewed by members of the Internship Selection Committee. If special personal or financial circumstances arise requiring early notification with regard to an interview, an applicant may contact the Medicine Residency Office to request early application review.

Dates for the 2019-2020 interview cycle are as follows:

Categorical

  • Thursday, November 14, 2019
  • Tuesday, November 19, 2019
  • Thursday, November 21, 2019
  • Tuesday, November 26, 2019
  • Tuesday, December 3, 2019
  • Thursday, December 5, 2019
  • Tuesday, December 10, 2019
  • Thursday, December 12, 2019
  • Tuesday, December 17, 2019
  • Thursday, December 19, 2019
  • Tuesday, January 7, 2020
  • Thursday, January 9, 2020

Primary Care

  • Wednesday, November 13, 2019
  • Wednesday, November 20, 2019
  • Wednesday, December 4, 2019
  • Wednesday, December 11, 2019
  • Wednesday, December 18, 2019
  • Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Preliminary

  • Monday, November 18, 2019
  • Monday, December 2, 2019
  • Monday, December 16, 2019
  • Monday, January 6, 2020

Medicine-Pediatrics

  • Wednesday, November 13, 2019
  • Wednesday, November 20, 2019
  • Wednesday, December 4, 2019
  • Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Medicine-Dermatology

  • Monday, January 13, 2020

Science in Residency Pathway

For invited candidates interested in participating in our Science in Residency Pathway, we invite you to attend an informational interview day, focused on a more in-depth look at life as a physician scientist at BWH. These interview days are optional and in addition to the Categorical interview day.

  • Friday, December 13, 2019
  • Friday, December 20, 2019
  • Friday, January 10, 2020

Additional information will be provided in the invitation to interview. 

Contact Information

Office: (617) 732-5775
Fax: (617) 264-6346

Or write to:

Joel T. Katz, M.D.
Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
75 Francis Street
Boston, MA 02115

LEARN MORE ABOUT BRIGHAM AND WOMEN’S HOSPITAL


For over a century, a leader in patient care, medical education and research, with expertise in virtually every specialty of medicine and surgery.

About BWH