skip to Cookie NoticeSkip to contents

Your health and safety remain our top priority: Learn about our Safe Care Commitment | Use our Prescreen app before arrival for faster entry | Read the COVID-19 Vaccine FAQs

Header Skipped.

Lotus Awards

The Department of Nursing and Patient Care Services’ Annual Lotus Awards, established in 2014, are aimed at acknowledging and honoring those members of our BWH Nursing and Patient Care Services communities who go above and beyond to create an environment where all employees, patients, and their families of diverse cultures, ethnic backgrounds, ages, lifestyles, religions, and abilities feelwelcomed and cared for. 

These awards celebrate individuals who show extraordinary talent and commitment to fostering and advancing a culture of diversity and inclusion at BWH. There are four categories for award nominations: clinicians, leaders, clinical support staff, and non-clinical support staff. The award ceremony and celebration is open to everyone in the institution.

Named by a member of the BWH community, the "lotus" name was selected because the open, fully bloomed flower represents self-awareness and growth to full enlightenment, knowledge and openness and its vibrant red color symbolizes compassion and love.

Read about the most recent Lotus awards in Heart & Science.


For over a century, a leader in patient care, medical education and research, with expertise in virtually every specialty of medicine and surgery.

About BWH