skip to Cookie NoticeSkip to contents

Your health and safety remain our top priority: Learn about our Safe Care Commitment | Use our Prescreen app before arrival for faster entry | Read the COVID-19 Vaccine FAQs

Header Skipped.

Awards, Honors, and Grants

December 31, 2015

Boston Magazine Names 108 BWHers in 'Top Doctors' List

Boston magazine has named 108 physicians affiliated with Brigham and Women's Hospital to the 2015 annual list of 'Top Doctors.'

This year, 'Top Doctors' highlighted 647 doctors in 63 different specialties who have made a significant impact in the Commonwealth. To prepare the annual list, Boston magazine partnered with Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., a health care research group. Castle Connolly's physician-led team of researchers selected top doctors on both the national and regional levels using mail and telephone surveys, along with electronic ballots, and asked physicians and the medical leadership of leading hospitals to identify highly skilled, exceptional doctors.

The BWH staff included in the list organized by specialty are:

Allergy & Immunology

Maria C. Castells

John J. Costa

Cardiac Electrophysiology

William G. Stevenson

Cardiovascular Disease

Paula A. Johnson

James M. Kirshenbaum

Patrick T. O'Gara

Lynne Warner Stevenson

Clinical Genetics

Susan P. Pauker

Colon & Rectal Surgery

Ronald Bleday

Elizabeth M. Breen

Joel E. Goldberg


Thomas S. Kupper

Diagnostic Radiology

Carol B. Benson

Peter M. Doubilet

Steven E. Seltzer

Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism

Shalender Bhasin

Ellen W. Seely


Robert Burakoff

Gynecologic Oncology

Ross S. Berkowitz

Sarah Feldman

Neil Horowitz

Michael G. Muto

Hand Surgery

Christian E. Sampson


Kenneth C. Anderson

Joseph H. Antin

Paul G. Richardson

Richard M. Stone

Hospice & Palliative Medicine

Janet L. Abrahm

Infectious Disease

Cameron D. Ashbaugh

Paul E. Sax

Internal Medicine

Barbara R. Gottlieb

Donald Levy

Lawrence A. Starr

Maternal & Fetal Medicine

Katherine E. Economy

Julian N. Robinson

Louise E. Wilkins-Haug

Medical Oncology

Harold J. Burstein

Arnold S. Freedman

Charles S. Fuchs 

Judy E. Garber

Robert I. Haddad

Bruce E. Johnson

Robert J. Soiffer

Mary-Ellen Taplin

Eric P. Winer

Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine

Linda J. Van Marter

Neurological Surgery

Ossama Al-Mefty

E. Antonio Chiocca

Alexandra J. Golby


Anthony A. Amato

Barbara A. Dworetzky

Page B. Pennell

Martin A. Samuels

Patrick Y. Wen

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Jon I. Einarsson

James A. Greenberg

Marc R. Laufer

Nawal M. Nour


Ernest W. Kornmehl 

Orthopaedic Surgery

Gregory W. Brick

Laurence D. Higgins

Tom Minas

John E. Ready


Neil Bhattacharyya


Christopher D. M. Fletcher

Anthony J. Guidi

Robert D. Odze

Helmut G. Rennke

Pediatric Cardiology

Jane Newburger

Plastic Surgery

Richard A. Bartlett

Charles A. Hergrueter

Dennis Orgill

Bohdan Pomahac


Hadine Joffe

Pulmonary Disease

Christopher Fanta

Anne Louise Fuhlbrigge

Edward Nardell

Radiation Oncology

Elizabeth H. Baldini

Clair J. Beard

Anthony V. D'Amico

Jay R. Harris

Akila N. Viswanathan

Reproductive Endocrinology

Elizabeth S. Ginsburg

Mark D. Hornstein

Brian W. Walsh


Jonathan S. Coblyn

Elena M. Massarotti

Margaret P. Seton

Nancy A. Shadick

Michael E. Weinblatt

Sleep Medicine

D. Andrew Wellman

David P. White


Stanley W. Ashley

Monica M. Bertagnolli

David C. Brooks

Atul A. Gawande

James Dirk Iglehart

Francis D. Moore Jr.

Scott A. Shikora

Thoracic & Cardiac Surgery

Raphael Bueno

Yolonda L. Colson

Scott J. Swanson


Adam S. Kibel

Michael P. O'Leary

Vascular & Interventional Radiology

Richard A. Baum

Chieh-Min Fan

Vascular Surgery

Michael Belkin

Matthew T. Menard