skip to Cookie NoticeSkip to contents

Your health and safety remain our top priority: Learn about our Safe Care Commitment | Use our Prescreen app before arrival for faster entry | Read the COVID-19 Vaccine FAQs

Header Skipped.

Awards, Honors, and Grants

November 10, 2021

Brigham Receives 'A' Safety Grade from The Leapfrog Group


Brigham and Women’s Hospital earned an ‘A’ Safety Grade from The Leapfrog Group for the fall of 2021. This distinction recognizes Brigham’s dedication to protecting patients from harm and offering the safest health care. 

The Leapfrog Group assigns grades A-F to all general hospitals in the nation based on their patient care performance in avoiding medical errors, injuries, accidents, infections and other harms.  This honor marks the eighth ‘A’ grade celebrated by the BWH since the fall of 2017.

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade, one of the gold standard measures of patient safety, was developed under the guidance of a national expert panel.  The Hospital Safety Grade uses 27 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign grades twice per year to more than 2,600 American acute-care hospitals. The methodology is peer-reviewed and completely transparent, and the results are free to the public.

The Leapfrog Group is an independent national watchdog organization that is committed to advancing safety and quality in the healthcare industry.