skip to Cookie NoticeSkip to contents

Your health and safety remain our top priority: Learn about our Safe Care Commitment | Use our Prescreen app before arrival for faster entry | Read the COVID-19 Vaccine FAQs

Header Skipped.

Awards, Honors, and Grants

October 25, 2011

John A. Mannick Award

Mannick Award

(Left to Right): Dr. Herbert Hechtman, Dr. Steven Mentzer, Dr. Grace Lee, Dr. John Mannick, Dr. Alexander Arriaga, Dr. Angela Bader, Dr. Florian Hackl, Dr. Dennis Orgill

The 17th Annual John A. Mannick Award was awarded to Alexander Arriaga, MD, Florian Hackl, MD, Alvin Kwok, MD and Grace Lee, MD, on October 19, 2011. This award recognizes the BWH Surgery residents’ work in basic science, clinical or outcomes research. The award is named after John A. Mannick, M.D. who served as the Chief of Surgery at BWH from 1976 until his retirement in 1994.  Dr. Mannick is still a leader in the field of vascular surgery research and maintained a laboratory at the Brigham which was continuously funded by the NIH for over 40 years. He continues to make contributions in the field of shock, sepsis and the management of burn patients, utilizing his studies of the role of the immune system in these disorders.