Centers of Excellence

The Lung Center

The Lung Center Leadership

Brigham and Women’s Hospital has long been renowned for its exceptional pulmonary medicine and thoracic surgical care, research and teaching. We are pleased to announce the start of a new chapter in lung services, with the formal launch of The Lung Center—BWH’s newest Center of Excellence—and the Lung Research Center, part of the Brigham Research Institute.

Together, the centers will enable us to provide the highest level of personalized care by bringing the latest advances in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of lung diseases directly to our patients.

The Lung Center is focused on our patients, and is structured to enhance communication and teamwork, facilitate collaboration between departments and services and enhance our existing areas of strength. We look forward to watching The Lung Center harness the entrepreneurial spirit of many staff and disciplines to further improve the patient care experience within BWH and in conjunction with our colleagues at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Under the leadership of Raphael Bueno, MD, chief of the Division of Thoracic Surgery, and Bruce Levy, MD, chief of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, supported by a multidisciplinary organizing committee, the center is poised to lead us into the next generation of advances in pulmonary and thoracic care.

The Lung Research Center will connect BWH’s outstanding researchers in lung health and disease to accelerate discoveries and quickly bring them to the bedside. Drs. Bueno and Levy, along with Ed Silverman, MD, PhD, chief of the Channing Division of Network Medicine, will co-direct the research center’s efforts to conduct scientific research that helps us better understand, treat and prevent lung disease.

– Elizabeth Nabel, MD

President, Brigham Health

Raphael Bueno, MD

Raphael Bueno, MD

Chief, Division of Thoracic Surgery
Co-Director, The Lung Center
Vice Chairman, Cancer and Translational Research
Professor, Harvard Medical School

Bruce Levy, MD

Bruce Levy, MD

Chief, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Co-Director, The Lung Center
Parker B. Francis Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

The Lung Center Leadership Organizing Committee

Raphael Bueno, MD

Bruce Levy, MD

Scott Swanson, MD

Amy Jackson

Linda Byron

Airway and Breathing Disorders

Christopher Ducko, MD

Christopher Fanta, MD

Steven Mentzer, MD

Scott Schissel, MD, PhD

Chest and Lung Cancer

Aileen Chen, MD, MPP

Pasi Janne, MD, PhD

Michael Rubin, MD

Scott Swanson, MD

Jon Wee, MD

Gerald Weinhouse, MD

Infectious Lung Conditions and Immunologic Disorders

Carolyn D'Ambrosio, MD

Michael Jaklitsch, MD

Edward Nardell, MD

Paul Sax, MD

Respiratory Failure and End-Stage Lung Disease

Phillip Camp, MD

Hilary Goldberg, MD

Hari Mallidi, MD

Aaron Waxman, MD, PhD

Integrated Lung Care

Yolonda Colson, MD, PhD

Megan Hardin, MD

Namrata Patil, MD, MPH

Benjamin Raby, MD, MPH


For over a century, a leader in patient care, medical education and research, with expertise in virtually every specialty of medicine and surgery.