skip to Cookie NoticeSkip to contents

Your health and safety remain our top priority: Learn about our Safe Care Commitment | Use our Prescreen app before arrival for faster entry | Read the COVID-19 Vaccine FAQs

Header Skipped.

Division News


Welcoming Victoria Hoch from University of Michigan and Sophia Sharifali from SUNY Downstate as our new critical care fellows.


Welcoming Thiago Oliveira from Boston Medical Center and Stephen Hallisey from our own US fellowship as our new critical care fellows.

I am pleased to announce Dr. Seethala has been appointed the new Thoracic ICU Director as October 1, 2020. This is an extraordinary accomplishment. Dr. Seethala was appointed the ECMO director in July 2020, and this recent appointment demonstrates the outstanding work and skills Raghu demonstrates. Raghu will be one of very few EM primary trained CCM intensivists who are thoracic surgery ICU directors in the country. I am especially pleased that Raghu will remain in the department of EM as his primary appointment and a joint appointment with surgery as well continue as an active member of the division of ECCM.

Please congratulate Imo Aisiku, MD, who has been appointed as the new Vice Chair of Diversity, Inclusion and Health Equity. Dr. Aisiku will oversee all diversity, inclusion and health equity programming, with oversight of the new Office for Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Social Justice (IDEaS). This position and office, along with allocation of administrative support and resources, represents a new and expansive approach to advancing diversity, professional advancement and health equity in Emergency Medicine and into our communities.

Peter Hou was appointed the Interim Director for the Emergency Medicine Critical Care Fellowship Program.

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Imoigele Aisiku has been selected for the 2020 BWPO Community Service Pillar Award


Welcoming HAEMR alumni’s Peter Allfather and Paul Jansson as our new critical care fellows.

Imo Aisiku was promoted to Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, Harvard Medical School.

Peter Hou was promoted to Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, Harvard Medical School


Welcoming Christian Renne from University of Cincinnati and Michael Sherman from Boston Medical Center as our new critical care fellows.

It is with pleasure that I introduce the latest recruitment to the division of EMCCM. Please welcome a HAEMR alum and recent graduate of our CCM fellowship program, Michael Billington to the department and division as faculty. Michael is interested in education and will have a significant role in fellowship education as we expand the fellowship coverage to South Shore Hospital.

It is my pleasure to announce that Raghu Seethala will be taking over the EM/IM CCM Fellowship. Raghu over the last 1-2 years has developed an EM/CCM US curriculum modeled after our own exceptional US program. As the US program continues to grow and mature, Raghu will now add the fellowship to his growing educational responsibilities. As our division continues to grow, Raghu is prepared to lead our current fellows and as we prepare and plan to increase our fellowship component. Please join me in congratulating and supporting Raghu in his new role.

Raghu Seethala is now a Co-Chair of the BWH Emergency Response Committee.


Welcoming Nana Sefa from William Beaumont and Gregory Wu from Albany Medical Center as our new critical care fellows.


Welcoming Naomi George from Brown University and HAEMR alumni Michael Billington as our new critical care fellows.

Brigham and Women’s Hospital welcomes back Jason Cohen. He graduated from our Anesthesia Critical Care Fellowship in 2010 and went on to Albany Medical Center, where he attended in the emergency department & surgical intensive care unit and served as the regional Medical Director for LifeNet Health of New York. Jason also has a special interest in disaster medicine. At BWH, he will be attending in the Cardiac Surgery and Surgical Intensive Care Units and serve as the Chief Medical Officer of Boston Medflight.

The Division of Emergency Critical Care Medicine was established on August 30, 2016.


Alissa Genthon, who is a HAEMR alumni and ultrasound fellowship trained, was the inaugural fellow to the BWH Emergency Medicine Critical Care Fellowship Program.


For over a century, a leader in patient care, medical education and research, with expertise in virtually every specialty of medicine and surgery.

About BWH